Super Rugby 2019 Schedule Confirmed

Super Rugby 2019 Schedule Confirmed

Super Rugby’s organising body Sanzaar have confirmed the dates for the 2019 Super Rugby season which will start on Friday, February 15.

The first match of the 2019 Super Rugby season will be when the Chiefs host the Highlanders in New Zealand at a venue to be confirmed.

The match schedule has been released but all of the venues still have to be confirmed. The Final will take place on Saturday, 6 July.

As there will be no June inbound international matches in 2019 – due to Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan later in the year – Super Rugby will run uninterrupted for 21 weeks.

Plus, there will be a uniform start to the tournament in Round 1 with a full round of seven matches to kick-off Super Rugby.

The tournament’s 15-team, three-Conference format remains the same.

Each team plays 16 regular-season Conference matches that include eight matches within their own Conference (home and away) and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away). Each team also has two byes.

This is a total of 120 matches in the regular season that will be followed by a seven-match, eight-team finals series.

Australia Conference:

Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves

New Zealand Conference:

Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes

South African Conference:

Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares

Read More: