Ulster edge Kings, Edinburgh thump Ospreys

Ulster edge Kings, Edinburgh thump Ospreys

Ulster pulled off a dramatic 43-36 victory over the Kings in their PRO14 clash in Port Elizabeth in the first of four games on Saturday.

Kings 36-43 Ulster

Robbie Diack scored a try with four minutes left on the clock which proved to be the match-winner for Ulster as they won 43-36 in Port Elizabeth.

The home side got off to an excellent start, with Berton Klaasen scoring a try after four minutes before Yaw Penxe added another three minutes later, which Oliver Zono converted, to give them a 12-0 lead before the 10 minute mark.

Sean Reidy hit back for the away side with a try after 19 minutes before Zono landed a penalty to extend the Kings’ lead.

Ulster scored another try through John Andrew before Michael Makase crossed for the Kings’ third. Penxe went from hero to villain when he was sin-binned five minutes before half-time, but the home side didn’t concede before the hooter to secure a 22-10 half-time lead.

Andrew scored again 10 minutes into the second-half before a John Cooney try and conversion levelled the scores at 22-22.

Klaasen got his second try for the Kings next and then Andrew Trimble scored for Ulster, with the scores level again with 10 minutes remaining.

Clive Ross dotted down for Ulster in the 73rd minute to give the away side the lead for the first time in the match before Penxe went in for his second to level scores yet again. Diack though scored a try late on which proved to be the match-winner, securing Ulster a 43-36 win.

The scorers:

For Kings:
Tries: Klaasen 2, Penxe 2, Makase
Cons: Zono 3, Coleman
Pen: Zono
Yellow Card: Penxe

For Ulster:
Tries: Reidy, Andrew 2, Cooney, Trimble, Ross, Diack
Cons: Cooney, Lealiifano 3

Southern Kings: 15 Yaw Penxe, 14 Michael Makase, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Alshaun Bock, 10 Oliver Zono, 9 Rudi van Rooyen, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Jurie van Vuuren, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby de Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Schalk Ferreira (c)
Replacements: 16 Tango Balekile, 17 Miami Majola, 18 Martin Dreyer//Luvuyo Pupuma, 19 Lindokuhle Welemu, 20 Dries van Schalkwyk, 21 Rowan Gouws, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Jarryd Sage

Ulster: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Louis Ludik, 12 Darren Cave, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 John Cooney, 8 Sean Reidy, 7 Chris Henry (c), 6 Matty Rea, 5 Alan O’Connor, 4 Kieran Treadwell, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 John Andrew, 1 Andy Warwick
Replacements: 16 Adam McBurney, 17 Callum Black, 18 Ross Kane, 19 Robbie Diack, 20 Clive Ross, 21 Jonny Stewart, 22 Peter Nelson, 23 Tommy Bowe

Referee: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Rasta Rasivhenge, Ben Crouse (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

Edinburgh 37-10 Ospreys

Edinburgh earned a 37-10 victory over Ospreys in their PRO14 clash at Myreside Stadium on Saturday night.

Jason Tovey starred by scoring a try and landing four conversions and three penalties for the home side.

The away side scored first through a Dimitri Arhip try after 12 minutes of play. Jason Tovey hit back for the home side with a penalty before Sam Davies cancelled it out with one of his own.

Blair Kinghorn scored Edinburgh’s first try in the 29th minute. Brendon Leonard was sin binned for Ospreys before Tovey nailed two more penalties to make the half-time score 16-10 to Edinburgh.

The home side came out all guns blazing for the second, with Nathan Fowles dotting down two minutes after play resumed.

Tovey sealed his solid performance with a try of his own to hand his side a 30-10 lead. Magnus Bradbury went in after the final hooter sounded to secure the home side a 37-10 victory

The scorers:

For Edinburgh:
Tries: Kinghorn, Fowles, Tovey, Bradburt
Cons: Tovey 4
Pens: Tovey 3

For Ospreys:
Tries: Arhip
Cons: Davies
Pens: Davies
Yellow card: Leonard

Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 James Johnstone, 12 Phil Bureligh, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Nathan Fowles, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Luke Crosbie, 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Fraser McKenzie, 3 Simon Berghan, 2 Neil Cochrane, 1 Michele Rizzo
Replacements: 16 Cameron Fenton, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 Murray McCallum, 19 Magnus Bradbury, 20 Lewis Carmichael, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Glenn Bryce, 23 Chris Dean

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Dafydd Howells, 13 James Hook, 12 Ashley Beck, 11 Tom Habberfield, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Rob McCusker, 7 Guy Mercer, 6 Olly Cracknell, 5 Bradley Davies, 4 Lloyd Ashley, 3 Dmitri Arhip, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Paul James (c)
Replacements: 16 Sam Parry, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Ma’afu Fia, 19 Rory Thornton, 20 James King, 21 Reuben Morgan-Williams, 22 Luke Price, 23 Kieron Fonotia

Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Eddie Hogan-O’Connell (Ireland), Bob Nevins (Scotland)
TMO: Neil Paterson (Scotland)


See More HERE